Thursday, February 12, 2009



Posted by Picasa

Posted by Picasa

KADA ’09: Delta Rules Chess Event
by Femi Solaja

Delta State chess team proved to the rest contestants that they have the best prodigies at the moment after producing a brilliant performance and diminished other states to win the chess event of the National Sports Festival in Kaduna . After a conservative start which gave Oyo and Edo an early lead, Team Delta bounced backed in both male and female section and grabbed a total of six gold, two silver and one bronze medals while perennial rival, Edo had three gold and two silver. Oyo was third with two gold, two silver and three bronze.

In the male individual board order, Francis Otobo from Delta won gold on board one with a perfect score of 8/8 while Asingbi Douye from Bayelsa picked silver and Ejeka Uchenna of Abia won bronze with 7/8 games. On board two, Demola Sorungbe of Oyo won gold also with perfect score of 8/8 while Okuruarere of Imo was next with 6/6 and Ilouno Ikenna from Cross Rivers picked bronze with 5/6 points.

John Ilobo of Yobe won gold on board three with Gerard Huleji from Peters of Benue followed in that order while Toyin Jegede of Ogun Mike Cole of Rivers and Ugushidah of Cross River picked the medals on board four while Oragwu Chukwunoso from Delta, Oladejo Tunde and Pam Abdu Dio of Adamawa won gold silver and bronze respectively on board five.
Emuakpeje Ochuko of Edo state secured a perfect score of 8/8 on board six to top the group and was followed by Onyeke Boniface of Kaduna and Amadi Ifeanyi from Anambra picked the rest medals on board six.

In the female category, Doris Daudu of Benue won gold on board one with 6/6 while Doris Bimoye of Delta picked silver and Pennap Ninu of Yobe won bronze. On board two, Lyan Ossai of Delta was the best with 7/7 points while Koko Abiye of Bayelsa won silver and Marddyath Abdu Salam of Kaduna picked the bronze. Dupe Adesanya of Oyo State was the best on board three as against Chinyere Igiwenyere of Imo and Iveren Gege of Benue who won silver and bronze respectively. Aguta Nneoma of Imo won gold on board four and was followed by Queen Princewill of Rivers State and Marian Ossai of Delta.

Promising Hope Amadasun of Edo displaced all opposition of board five while Nwanfor Kenechukwu of Anambra and Alexis Dikeocha of Oyo followed with silver and bronze respectively. Yetunde Odumade of Rivers, Adoga Emoh of Bayelsa and Chinwe Nwkonta of Anambra all dominated proceedings on board six.

In the blitz event, Oteri Efemuai of Delta won gold after his play off battle against highly favoured Demola Sorungbe of Oyo state while Tunji Rojugbokan of Oyo won bronze.
In the female section, youthful Tega Enarevba displaced Doris Bomoye all from Delta to win gold while Vivian Dzaayem of Edo won the bronze.

Lagos State with high expectation joined 13 other states
with no medal to their credit

No comments: